Saunter-Chun Prevails in Circuit Excel eSeries Thriller

Share This Post

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on pinterest
Share on email

Tommi Saunter-Chun has powered to a dramatic victory in Round 3 of the Shannons Insurance Circuit Excel eSeries at Phillip Island, moving from third to first place during a dramatic final lap of the one hour endurance race.

Saunter-Chun, who qualified 12th, made substantial ground early in the race, climbing five positions on the opening lap. Saunter-Chun continued making steady progress until he took his compulsory pit-stop on lap 22, the last of the drivers in the lead pack to do so, and rejoined in fifth position.

Saunter-Chun easily disposed of the Evolution Racing entries of Ethan Grigg-Gault and Jordan Caruso, who made the fatal mistake of not fitting new tyres during their pit stops, and commenced the final lap in third position.

He was able to overtake Lachlan Mineeff at Turn 3, before dramatically passing Jordan Ross for the lead at Turn 10 after Ross’s Audi RS3 TCR car ran out of fuel on the 36th and final lap.

Ross’s demise enabled Saunter-Chun to score victory ahead of Mineeff and Ben Bargwanna, with Caruso fourth ahead of Grigg-Gault, who protected his championship lead with a top-five finish.

Check out the dramatic conclusion to the race below.

Shannons Insurance Circuit Excel eSeries – Top 10 points (after Round 3)

  1. Ethan Grigg-Gault – 828
  2. Tommi Saunter-Chun – 674
  3. Ben Bargwanna – 612
  4. Aaron Oliver – 605
  5. Broc Feeney – 501
  6. Jordan Caruso – 460
  7. Lachlan Mineeff – 448
  8. Dylan Birse – 436
  9. Matt Brunt – 414
  10. Benjamin Smith – 398

More To Explore

Supercars eSeries

2020 Supercars Eseries Preview

WORDS: Ryan Jones, Lachlan Mansell The long awaited 2020 Repco Supercars Pro Eseries is set to get underway tonight at 8:30PM AEDT with a double header at Belle Isle and

General News

Rogers Wins in PESC as Albert Excels in Rallycross Debut

WORDS: Ryan Jones This past weekend saw an Australian assault on two fronts in iRacing World Championship competition with Joshua Rogers, Josh Anderson, Dayne Warren and Jarrad Filsell resuming their