Mixed Results for Aussies in Silverstone Porsche Supercup Races

Share This Post

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on pinterest
Share on email

The four Australian drivers competing in Round 4 of the Porsche TAG Heuer eSports Supercup at Silverstone last night endured mixed results in the two races, Dayne Warren finishing the evening as the highest Aussie point-scorer by virtue of his fifth-place qualifying performance, eighth place in the sprint race and ninth in the feature.

Warren ran sixth in the early stages of the sprint race, but conceded two positions late on the first lap to Sebastian Job and fellow Aussie Josh Rogers, who was the fastest qualifier for the fourth-consecutive round and thus started eighth on the grid.

Rogers finished one spot ahead of Warren in the sprint race, but disaster struck for Rogers in the feature; the Virtual Racing School driver ran slightly wide while attempting an overtaking manoeuvre on one of his rivals and skated back onto the circuit directly in front of Warren; the two cars made heavy contact, which resulted in Rogers spinning down the order while Warren was thankfully able to continue and finish ninth.

Rogers recovered to finish 17th after dropping down to 30th, but the lowly result saw him falling from first to fourth in the standings.

Jarrad Filsell finished 23rd in the sprint race after a vigorous battle with Tommy Østgaard but fell to 32nd in the feature race, while Josh Anderson was 33rd and 27th in the two races.

The sprint race was won by French driver Jeremy Bouteloup, while Spaniard Alejandro Sánchez won the feature race.

In the Porsche eSports Sprint Challenge (for Cayman GT4 cars) it was Cooper Webster who finished as the highest-placed Aussie in ninth position, despite an early spin while battling among the top three.

Jack Boyd finished 15th, Ben Smith was 20th and recently-crowned Porsche Australia Virtual Cup Champion Cooper Murray was 22nd after being caught up in an incident in the first corner.

The next round of the Porsche TAG Heuer eSports Supercup will be held at Road Atlanta on 1 August.


Porsche TAG Heuer eSports Supercup Points

1. Sebastian Job – 219

2. Maximilian Benecke – 201

3. Alejandro Sánchez – 198

4. Josh Rogers – 194

5. Dayne Warren – 155

6. Sindre Setsaas – 136

7. Tommy Østgaard – 135

8. Jeff Giassi – 131

9. Brian Lockwood – 130

10. Ricardo Castro Ledo – 109

21. Jarrad Filsell – 54

22. Josh Anderson – 52

More To Explore

Supercars eSeries

2020 Supercars Eseries Preview

WORDS: Ryan Jones, Lachlan Mansell The long awaited 2020 Repco Supercars Pro Eseries is set to get underway tonight at 8:30PM AEDT with a double header at Belle Isle and

General News

Rogers Wins in PESC as Albert Excels in Rallycross Debut

WORDS: Ryan Jones This past weekend saw an Australian assault on two fronts in iRacing World Championship competition with Joshua Rogers, Josh Anderson, Dayne Warren and Jarrad Filsell resuming their