Field Set for TCR Australia SimRacing Series

Share This Post

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on pinterest
Share on email

The final entry list for tonight’s opening round of the carsales TCR Australia SimRacing Series at the Albert Park Grand Prix circuit has been confirmed.

A field of 13 cars will take to the Melbourne venue, the track that was to be the home of the inaugural TCR Asia Pacific Cup in March this year before the coronavirus pandemic put a halt to proceedings.

After a successful ARG eSport Cup where all competitors from the Australian Racing Group’s stable of categories were invited to compete, this series is dedicated to TCR Australia and New Zealand entrants. Unlike the ARG eSport Cup, which used the iRacing platform, the TCR Australia SimRacing Series will be conducted on the Assetto Corsa software.

Leading the field of competitors will be reigning TCR Australia champion Will Brown, who will representing the HMO Customer Racing team in his #1 Hyundai i30 N TCR.

Joining Brown will be New Zealander Jaden Ransley, who was victorious in the ARG eSport Cup. Ransley will drive the #30 HMO Hyundai and is considered one of the title favourites.

Brown and Ransley are two of four i30 Ns in the field, with New Zealanders Peter Vodanovich and Brock Timperley representing a continent of TCR NZ competitors.

Ready to challenge the Hyundai attack will be the Wall Racing Hondas of Tony D’Alberto and John Martin, driving their Civic Type R cars.

Also driving a Honda will be Zac Soutar, the young Geelong-based privateer who will compete in the TCR Australia Series this year.

Ben Bargwanna – son of former Bathurst 1000 winner and current TCR Australia driver Jason – will take the wheel of his Burson Auto Parts Peugeot 308 which at this stage is the only Peugeot in the field.

Garry Rogers Motorsport is represented by Dylan O’Keeffe, who comes into the series with impressive sim racing credentials including a top-three championship result in the ARG eSport Cup. O’Keeffe will drive the Renault Megane TCR car.

A pair of Volkswagen Golfs will also be part of the action. TCR Australia regular Chelsea Angelo will drive her Astrontech GTI, while former Toyota 86 driver Luke King is counting on the Golf to take him to the front of the field.

Australian privateer Liam McAdam and Track Tec Racing’s Rowan Shepard will represent Audi in the RS 3, while Jay Hanson will compete in his Alfa Romeo, although will miss tonight’s first round due to prior commitments.

Other local and international guests are expected to join the field from Round 2, to be run next week at Mount Panorama, Bathurst.

The Albert Park event will be streamed live starting at 8pm AEST tonight, with Sim Racing Oz editor Lachlan Mansell joining Cameron Van Den Dungen in commentary.

TCR Australia SimRacing Series Round 1 Entry List

Number Team Name Driver Nationality Car
1 HMO Customer Racing Will Brown AUS Hyundai I30N
2 Luke King Racing Luke King AUS Volkswagen Golf GTI
17 Burson Auto Parts Racing Ben Bargwanna AUS Peugeot 308 TCR
24 Wall Racing John Martin AUS Honda Civic Type R
28 Track Tec Racing Rowan Shepherd NZ Audi RS 3
30 HMO Customer Racing Jaden Ransley NZ Hyundai I30N
33 Garry Rogers Motorsport Dylan O’Keeffe AUS Renault Megane RS
50 Wall Racing Tony D’Alberto AUS Honda Civic Type R
59 Brock Timperley Motorsport Brock Timperley NZ Hyundai I30N
84 Racing Sims NZ Peter Vodanovich NZ Hyundai I30N
97 LM Motorsport Liam McAdam AUS Audi RS 3
110 Team Soutar Motorsport Zac Souter AUS Honda Civic Type R
134 Astrontech Chelsea Angelo AUS Volkswagen Golf GTI

More To Explore

Supercars eSeries

2020 Supercars Eseries Preview

WORDS: Ryan Jones, Lachlan Mansell The long awaited 2020 Repco Supercars Pro Eseries is set to get underway tonight at 8:30PM AEDT with a double header at Belle Isle and

General News

Rogers Wins in PESC as Albert Excels in Rallycross Debut

WORDS: Ryan Jones This past weekend saw an Australian assault on two fronts in iRacing World Championship competition with Joshua Rogers, Josh Anderson, Dayne Warren and Jarrad Filsell resuming their